Are Bagels Vegan?

Are Bagels vegan? Yes, most kinds of bagels are vegan, except those containing dairy, eggs, and honey. But how do you find them?

Various bagels on cooling rack.

It’s not hard to spot the vegan version of this popular breakfast item. But before getting into that, here’s a little more information about what bagels are, the vegan ingredients they’re typically made with, and the non-vegan ingredients to avoid.

What Are Bagels?

Bagels are a bread roll that originated from Polish Jewish communities. They came to America in the 19th century and would grow in popularity in the late 90s.

It’s a simple recipe made of flour, yeast, and water. The bagel dough is boiled before baking in an oven until soft, fluffy, and brown. It’s a similar process to making these vegan pretzels buns.

Bagel Ingredients

Knowing the ingredients is important in answering the question, can vegans eat bagels? Here’s a quick breakdown of ingredients and toppings that are vegan and non-vegan.


  • Yeast
  • Flour
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Sweeteners
  • Fat

Toppings and fillings which are also vegan include fruits, vegetables, seeds, nuts, herbs, spices, and grains.


  • Dairy – Any bagel made of milk or cheese is non-vegan.
  • Eggs
  • Honey
  • L-cysteine – It’s a food additive made from duck feathers used as a dough conditioner to help improve the texture of the bread and extend its shelf life.

Non-vegan toppings and fillings to avoid include mayonnaise, meats, and fish. Other sources will caution against eating bagels with mono and diglycerides.

However, most of the time, these are derived from plant sources. Check with the manufacturer to verify the source of these ingredients.

Another thing to consider when buying bagels from a bakery is to check with the server that they are vegan. Some may use an egg wash before baking.

Which Bagel Brands have vegan options?

There are a number of popular brands that sell bagels. Here’s some info about which ones are vegan.


Bruegger’s has all the vegan bagels that perhaps anyone could ever want. From plain to sesame seed, you’re bound to find an option to get from them. They also make vegan cream cheese bagels too.

Tim Horton’s

Tim Horton’s offers a few selections of vegan bagels. You can enjoy blueberry, cinnamon raisin, plain, and other options. Their vegan toppings include strawberry jam, peanut butter, and grape jelly.


Noah’s offers lots of vegan bagels. They have poppyseed, pretzels and peppercorn potato bagels. Noah’s also has hummus, peanut butter, and strawberry jelly for spreads, and tomato salsa, avocado and sauerkraut as toppings.

Dunkin Donuts

In a press release in 2019, Dunkin’ Donuts noted that they do have vegan bagel options, which are the following:

  • Cinnamon raisin
  • Plain
  • Everything
  • Sesame


While the packaging for certain bagels sold at Aldi’s isn’t marked vegan, it’s essential to read the label. An example of this is Lovin’ Fresh Plain Bagels. A quick look through the ingredients shows that it does not have eggs or dairy listed.


Thomas’ Bagels provides many types of vegan options at the grocery store. Enjoy cinnamon raisin, blueberry, plain made with whole grain and much more.


Starbucks’ plain and everything bagels are vegan. As far as spreads, you can opt for the organic avocado spread, Justin’s Hazelnut Butter or Classic Almond Butter, depending on availability.

Einstein Bros

Einstein Bros has a pretty decent selection of vegan bagels. Here are a few you might want to try out:

  • Blueberry
  • Chocolate chip
  • Everything
  • Avocado Toast
  • Ancient Grain
  • French Toast
  • Cinnamon Raisin

They have avocado, natural peanut butter, and strawberry jelly for spreads. The sauces at Einstein Bros include chipotle salsas, mustard, and salsa verde.


Panera has vegan bagel options for Plain, Everything, Blueberry, and Sesame.

Sara Lee

The majority of Sara Lee’s bagels are vegan. The soft and smooth varieties may contain eggs, milk, and honey.

Pepperidge Farm

Pepperidge Farm’s bagels are vegan based on ingredients not containing milk, eggs, or honey.


While Udi’s bagels are gluten-free, they are not vegan because they contain egg whites.


Some sources say that Lender’s Bagels contain L-cysteine, but I could not find it in the ingredients, making it likely vegan-friendly.

Trader Joe’s

Trader Joe’s plain and whole wheat bagels are vegan.

Dave’s Killer Bread

Dave’s Killer Bread notes that all their bread products, including their bagels, are vegan.

Ray’s New York Bagels

Ray’s New York Bagels states that all their products are dairy-free, egg-free, and nut free.

L’oven Fresh

As mentioned earlier, L’oven Fresh’s plain bagels are vegan based on the ingredients. Be sure to read the ingredients for all their other bagels to determine if they have dairy or eggs.


Their Original and Sourdough bagels are vegan.


The Original, Sesame, Everything, Whole Wheat, Cinnamon Raisin, and 12-Grain bagels are vegan.

What To Remember About Vegan Bagels

In general, the plain bagels for most brands are likely vegan. Look at the ingredients to ensure the brand doesn’t contain dairy or eggs. Here are some other options that are potentially vegan, but be sure to look at their ingredients:

  • David’s Deli
  • Market Pantry Bagels
  • Sam’s Choice
  • Daily Chef
  • Cobblestone Bread Co.

There are many bagel options available out there to try. Have fun trying some new ones and finding your favorites.

More Vegan Resources



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 3 MB. You can upload: image. Drop file here