Vegan Grocery List

No matter your reason for going vegan, this vegan grocery list helps take the guesswork out of buying groceries. It’s helpful for beginners or anyone looking for new meal ideas.

Bag with produce on carpet

Basic Vegan Grocery List for Beginners

1. Fruits (fresh, frozen or dried)

  • apple
  • apricots
  • bananas
  • oranges
  • strawberries
  • berries
  • mango
  • pineapple
  • mixed fruit blends
  • prunes
  • raisins
  • cranberries

2. Vegetables (fresh or frozen)

  • bok choy,
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • kale
  • spinach
  • beet greens
  • asparagus
  • beets
  • carrots
  • bell peppers
  • corn
  • seaweed

3. Beans and Legumes

  • Black beans
  • Butter beans
  • Chickpeas
  • Cannellini beans
  • Lentils
  • Edamame (Green Soybeans)
  • Kidney beans
  • Navy beans
  • Pinto beans

4. Nuts and Seeds

  • Almonds
  • Almond butter
  • Brazil nuts
  • Cashews
  • Chia seeds
  • Flaxseeds
  • Hazelnuts
  • Hemp seeds
  • Pecans
  • Pistachio
  • Sunflower seeds
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Walnuts
  • Peanuts and peanut butter

5. Whole Grains and Grain Products

  • Barley
  • Buckwheat
  • Millet
  • Oats (rolled or steel-cut)
  • Teff
  • Farro
  • Quinoa
  • Popcorn
  • Rye
  • Brown rice
  • Whole-wheat Pasta
  • Whole grain bread, bagels or wraps
  • Whole grain flours

6. Meat Alternatives

  • Tofu
  • Tempeh
  • Boca
  • Impossible
  • Beyond Meat
  • Seitan
  • Black Bean or Chickpea Based

7. Dairy Substitutes

  • soy milk
  • almond milk
  • cashew milk
  • coconut milk
  • oat milk
  • non-dairy ice creams (So Delicious is my favorite!)
  • non-dairy cheese (Violife, Daiya)

8. Herbs (fresh or dried)

  • Parsley
  • Thyme
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Sage
  • Cilantro

9. Spices and Seasonings

  • Cumin
  • Paprika
  • Curry
  • Garam Masala
  • Cayenne
  • Nutmeg
  • Cinnamon
  • Allspice
  • Vanilla
  • Salt and Black Pepper

10. Sweeteners

  • Brown sugar
  • Maple syrup
  • Monk fruit
  • Agave
  • Stevia

11. Cooking Oils or Fats

  • Olive oil
  • Coconut Oil
  • Avocado oil
  • Margarine or Dairy-free butter

12. Snacks and Miscellaneous Items

  • Vegetable Stock or bouillon
  • Baking powder
  • Baking Soda
  • Apple cider Vinegar
  • Crackers
  • Chips
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Cookies
  • Cereals
  • Granola and Granola Bars
  • Canned Soups

Which foods should vegans avoid?

There are some surprising foods that contain animal products. Here are some examples:

  • Gelatin – made from cow and pig bones
    • Roasted peanuts – check if gelatin was added during the roasting process
    • Jell-O and certain candies are made with gelatin
  • Additives and vitamins with Omega-3, which is made from fish
  • Honey
  • White Sugar – may be processed with bone char (mainly brands in the US)
  • Alcoholic drinks, such as beer and wine, may use animal products/enzymes during the winemaking process.

Recipe Ideas

RELATED: Veganuary Recipes

Gluten-free Shopping List

  • Fruits and vegetables (plain fresh, frozen or dried)
  • Beans and legumes (plain frozen or dried tofu)
  • Nuts and seeds (plain)
  • Meat alternatives – tofu, Beyond Meat
  • Dairy substitutes – Certified gluten-free plant-based milk, vegan ice cream and cheese
  • Miscellaneous items – Certified gluten-free spices, sauces, oils, vegetable stock, seasonings, sweeteners, snacks and soups.

Gluten-free grains and grain products

Gluten-free vegans avoid animal products as well as gluten-containing products. They have to be doubly mindful of the foods they eat.

Going gluten-free could be due to gluten sensitivity or Celiac disease. It could also be a personal dietary choice.

Which foods should gluten-free vegans avoid?

  • All animal products
  • Wheat (flour, wheat berries, bulgur, farro, semolina, spelt)
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Seitan and some tempeh brands
  • Beers and malt beverages
  • Some canned fruits and vegetables may contain gluten in the liquid.
  • Some frozen or dried fruits and vegetables may have added gluten ingredients.
  • Many pre-packaged foods like soup and frozen meals can have hidden gluten.
  • Some gluten-free bread and pasta brands may contain eggs.
  • Condiments like salad dressing, soy sauce or mayo can contain gluten or eggs.
  • Some brands of ice cream contain gluten as a filler.
    Always check the ingredient lists carefully or look for “Certified Gluten-free” on the label.

Gluten-free Vegan Recipes

Whole-food Plant-based Shopping List

  • Fruits and vegetables – All plain and unsweetened fresh, frozen or dried
  • Beans and legumes – plain dried or canned with no additives
  • Plain nuts or seeds – including unsweetened nut or seed butter
  • Whole grains and grain products – including flour, whole-grain pasta and bread
  • Meat alternatives – tofu, tempeh, mushrooms, black bean or chickpea-based
  • Plant-based Milk – soy, almond, cashew, hemp, oat
  • Fresh or dried herbs
  • Spices and seasonings – curry, chili, cinnamon, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, balsamic vinegar, apple cider vinegar.
  • Nutritional yeast
  • Miso
  • Unsweetened, whole-grain granola

Whole-food plant-based vegans limit consumption to whole or unrefined plants foods. It’s a lifestyle that focuses on eating low-fat, minimally processed foods.

This also means excluding oils and most prepackaged foods. It will take a lot of planning, but it is possible to have a wholesome diet. Be sure to check with a doctor before adapting to this lifestyle.

Once you get the hang of it, grocery shopping will be a breeze since you will be sticking to one section of the grocery store.

Which foods should whole-food plant-based vegans avoid?

  • All animal products
  • Canned fruits with added sugars and flavorings
  • Refined oils
  • Coconut milk (high-fat)
  • Refined sugars and grains
  • Processed and pasteurized juices from concentrate

Plant-based Vegan Recipes

Keto Shopping List

  • Oils – olive, coconut, avocado, vegan butter or spreads
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Nut and seed butter
  • Low-carb or nut flour
  • Dairy-free alternatives – soy milk, almond milk, cashew milk, coconut milk or cream, hemp milk, oat milk (be sure they are all unsweetened)
  • Vegetable stock
  • Tofu and tempeh
  • Avocados
  • Blackberries
  • Sugar-free vegan condiments – olives, pickles, soy sauce
  • Low-carb bread, pasta and noodles
  • Fresh or dried herbs
  • Spices and seasonings – curry, chili, cinnamon, paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, balsamic vinegar, apple cider vinegar.
  • Nutritional yeast
  • Miso
  • Cocoa powder
  • Sweeteners – monk fruit, yacon syrup

Non-starchy, low-carb vegetables

  • arugula
  • cauliflower
  • broccoli
  • bell peppers
  • onions
  • garlic
  • spinach
  • kale
  • cabbage
  • mushrooms
  • tomatoes
  • eggplant

Keto is a high-fat and low-carb diet that has become popular in recent years. It can be tricky to balance the requirements of the keto diet while avoiding animal products. However, it is possible.

With some careful planning and mindful grocery shopping, vegans can reap the benefits of the diet as well. But as with any new diet, please check with a doctor before starting.

Which foods should keto vegans avoid?

  • All animal products
  • Grains including oats, wheat, rye, barley, corn, buckwheat, rice
  • Sugary drinks
  • High-carb and non-vegan sweeteners, including honey, maple syrup, agave, coconut sugar, agave
  • Starchy vegetables, including potatoes, carrots, yams, beets, turnips
  • Beans and legumes (although tofu and tempeh may be ok for some)
  • High-carb fruits and fruit juices, including bananas, apples, pineapples, pears, grapes, mangoes, papayas
  • Frozen or canned fruit with sugar added
  • High-carb alcoholic drinks
  • Low-fat diet foods
  • High-carb sauces and condiments
  • Highly processed foods

Keto Vegan Recipes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 3 MB. You can upload: image. Drop file here


  1. Maria L Pinto says:

    Hi Jhanelle,

    I found out this year that many wines are not vegan. Here are a few that are.

    Our Daily Red
    Pacific Redwood Organic Red wine (California)
    One that Trader Joes sells, A Rose/Blush wine (can’t remember the name

    1. Hi Maria! Thanks so much for the suggestions. I don’t drink alcohol but I like cooking with it. Especially red wine. This is helpful!